2011 Awards

2011 Award Recipients

Presented by President Armand Gonzalez, February 2011

The Raymond F. Dasmann Award for the Professional of the Year went to Dr. Philip Leitner.
The Conservationist of the Year Award went to Mojave Desert Land Trust. Accepting for MDLT is Nancy Karl and John Simpson.
The Chapter of the Year Award went to the Sacramento-Shasta Chapter. Accepting for the Sac-Shasta Chapter is Lucy Triffleman and Canh Nguyen.
The Barrett A. Garrison Mentor of the Year Award went to Jeff Alvarez.

The following TWS member received a past-presidents pin for his service to the Western Section at the annual business meeting:

  • Scott Osborn, Past-President 2010

The following TWS members received plaques for their service to the Western Section at the annual business meeting:

  • Armand Gonzalez, President 2010
  • John McNerney, President-Elect 2010
  • Bill Standley, Hawaii Chapter Representative 2005-2010
  • Rick Truex, Conservation Affairs Chair 2009-2010
  • Denise Walker-Brown, Professional Development Co-Chair 2005-2010
  • Debra Hawk, Newsletter Editor 20098-2010
  • John Harris, Transaction Editor 2007-2010

The following student presenters received an award at the annual banquet:


  • 1st – $100, Michelle Murphy, Wildlife Corridor Linkages,
  • 2nd – $50, Carie Wingert, Burrowing Owl Food Habits,


  • 1st – $100, Joseph Stewart, Status of American Pika
  • 2nd – $50, Patricia Valcareal, Giant Gartersnakes